I Faked My Love Language for My Abuser’s Benefit

Caitlin Fisher
5 min readNov 23, 2019
Photo by Christiana Rivers on Unsplash

Consistently, my love language quiz results have placed words of affirmation and acts of service vying for top spot, with physical touch and quality time a distant second place tie, and gifts bringing up the rear. Today, my Facebook memories brought up a screenshot of my quiz results from 2015 with the caption, “No wonder I love it when he does the dishes!”

My results were as follows:

  • Acts of Service: 11
  • Words of Affirmation: 10
  • Physical Touch: 5
  • Quality Time: 4
  • Gifts: 0

While it’s possible to give and receive love in all five love languages, taking the quiz is a great check-in to make sure I’m honoring the easiest and most effective ways for my loved ones to show me they care.

My new results, taken four years after the previous quiz, were completely different.

  • Words of Affirmation: 9
  • Physical Touch: 7
  • Quality Time: 7
  • Acts of Service: 6
  • Receiving Gifts: 1

Why the difference?

It was easier to close off that part of myself and act like touch wasn’t an…

--

--

Caitlin Fisher

Prone to sudden bursts of encouragement. They/them. Queer, autistic author of bit.ly/GaslightingMillennials